Summer Activities for Toddlers

25 Jul

Summer is a busy time of year, and toddlers are always busy, so what can you do to entertain them during the summer?  Here are a few fun ideas I found from some crafty bloggers:

Fluffy Shaving Cream Paint

http://www.sweethappylife.com/2012/activities/toddler-games-activities/toddler-indoor-activities/fluffy-shaving-cream-paint/

shaving cream paint

Such a simple idea, but one you should probably do outside where you can hose the little kids down after they are done!

Supplies:

Shaving Cream (I used an inexpensive on-sale brand)

Food coloring

Small bowls

Kids paint brushes

Paper (or something to paint on)

Put 3-4 drops of food coloring into the bottom of each bowl. Squirt shaving cream into each bowl and mix with the end of a metal spoon until the color is mostly incorporated. Add a couple more drops of coloring to the shaving cream as needed to intensify the color.  That’s it!

Note: You might be able to do this with whipped cream from the can too! (I haven’t tried it.)

– See more at: http://www.sweethappylife.com/2012/activities/toddler-games-activities/toddler-indoor-activities/fluffy-shaving-cream-paint/#sthash.p0S6tWz8.dpuf

Make Your Own Sidewalk Paint

http://kimmccrary.blogspot.com/2012/06/summer-fun-last-day-of-school.html#.Ue_Tsm086W1

sidewalk paint

Supplies:

1 part cornstarch (1 c.)

1 part water (1 c.)

food coloring (we used neon colors)

sponge brushes

Mix corn starch and water. Add food coloring and mix.

*I used a muffin tin for extra large muffins to hold the paint. One cup of cornstarch and one cup of water filled them about half way. The paint stretched further than I thought. I also included a sponge brush for each color–just simpler.

Edible Candy Necklace

http://blondieandbrownies.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/edible-candy-necklace/

edible candy necklace

I love this idea because of its double duty nature – First – it’s a craft and Second – it will serve as a traveling snack.  This one is nice for snacking in the car since I hate to give a little bowl of crackers to my niece to munch on.  As soon as I pull out of the driveway, I usually hear “Uh-oh” as the bowl slips out of her hands and hits the floor.  Before I give it to her in the car, I will certainly make sure she can successfully bite the snacks off the string without sucking on the string.  I wouldn’t want her to choke.

Since it has been so warm out, I think I will be looking for cookies and pretzels without chocolate.  That’s a mess just waiting to happen.

goldfish crackers

Oh, how I wish Goldfish crackers had a hole in them so they could be included in this activity!!!

Water Play

http://www.teachpreschool.org/2013/07/one-inch-water-play/

Water Play

I love how this Early Education grandmother takes such a simple concept (a little water and small objects you can put in the water) and lets her grandson explore what he wants to do with it.  I am definitely going to do this with my niece.  She will especially love to wash the ‘dishes’ or ‘toys’.  She loves to wash things in the sink, and I never thought to make her very own ‘sink’ with a tub of soap and water.

washing the toys

Learning in a Tub of Rice – more educational than I thought!

http://www.teachpreschool.org/2012/06/early-writing-skills-can-be-found-in-a-tub-of-rice/

tub of rice

At first I assumed that this was a dry version of the Water Play (above) because I’ve seen this activity done with lots of rice and the kids burying toys and feeling the textures.  Who knew, less could actually be more?

I definitely plan on trying all of these simple activities with my niece.  Do you have any more ideas you can share?

Anne-Marie Dunn is the owner of www.BaptismalGownsPlus.com

Please feel free to visit our website or send us an e-mail at Support@BaptismalGownsPlus.com to let us know what you think.

One Response to “Summer Activities for Toddlers”

  1. BaptismalGownsPlus July 26, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    From our FaceBook page: These are great ideas- and easy to set up and clean up. I am totally trying the snack necklaces.

Leave a Reply

