I Got What I Wanted – Did You?

16 May

Hurray!  I got what I wanted for Mother’s Day!  Well, let me qualify that by saying “I’m in the process of getting what I wanted for Mother’s Day!!!”

As is every dream of every mother on Mother’s Day, my husband said “Let’s go to the stone yard and pick out the rocks you want.”  If you think is just plain mean for a husband to do to his wife on Mother’s Day, maybe it’s because you missed last weeks post – check it out here.

Mid-morning on Monday I hear the truck in the driveway:

Image

Monday morning delivery….

 Now we just need these landscaping rocks to get from my driveway, to the appropriate parts of our yard…

Considering here are a few examples of the current state of affairs in our front yard:

One of the beds near the street...

One of the beds near the street…

A bed near the house - OUCH!!!

A bed near the house – OUCH!!!

I am more than willing to put up with not being able to park my car in the garage for a little while.

A little inconvenience is OK

A little inconvenience is OK

To his credit, my husband came home and started to work on the first bed right away.  Our priority system is to start with the worst/most visible areas (near the street) and work our way back toward the house which is not as visible to the general public just driving by…  Our house is set a bit higher than street level, although not up high on a hill by any means, but the little height gives us a little visual buffer when choosing where to start with this project.  After day 1, this is what it looked like from the front door:

Looks somewhat done

Looks somewhat done

I was impressed because there was a lot of work to do to get the old junk out of the bed before they could add the stones.    They worked until dark so I didn’t get a chance to go outside and check it out.  It wasn’t until the next morning when I looked outside from the 2nd floor of the house that I got a little bit of an aerial view to see there’s more work to be done:

Day 1 progress - aerial  view

Day 1 progress – aerial view

OK – so it needs more work, and now he has had meetings the past 2 nights so it’s still looking like this as of this writing.  Considering the before pictures, I am so thankful for this Mother’s Day present.  And if I wanted to, I could claim that I got A HUGE (pile of) ROCK(s) for Mother’s Day.  I can’t make that claim every year, but this year, I am grateful for it (them).

What did you get for Mother’s Day?  I hope it was just what you wanted.  Share your Mother’s Day presents with us by commenting on this post.

Anne-Marie Dunn is the owner of www.BaptismalGownsPlus.com
Please feel free to visit our website or send us an e-mail at Support@BaptismalGownsPlus.com to let us know what you think.
4 Responses to “I Got What I Wanted – Did You?”

  1. Laura May 16, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    We are in the midst of many landscaping projects ourselves! I love that you got what you wanted and that things are moving along nicely as you relocate your rocks 🙂

    • BaptismalGownsPlus May 16, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      Good luck with your landscaping projects! There’s always work to be done…

  2. bxjoyce1 May 17, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    I got a bike and bike trailer for my daughter so we can go on adventures as a family. I asked to get my car detailed and that is in process – we found someone that will come to the house and detail both cars. I also got a couple hours to do what I wanted on my own – priceless.

    • BaptismalGownsPlus May 18, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      That’s great – enjoy your adventures… and your nice clean car!

Leave a Reply

