What I Want for Mother’s Day…

9 May

Well, I got the text I was waiting for a few days ago from my husband…. “anything specific you want for Mother’s Day from your boys?”

text message

After 20 years of marriage, and 11 years of being a mom, my husband knows that randomly picking a gift for me doesn’t always work.

wedding ring

I’ve received several gift certificates to a “spa” for a massage, or facial, or some other luxurious service where I can be pampered for an hour or two, to emerge feeling like a new woman.  Problem is, I’m a busy woman, and ‘pampering myself’ usually falls to the bottom of my very long to-do list.

gift certificate

My greatest satisfaction is doing things for others so I have never enjoyed splurging on something just for me.  I guess the thought of feeling selfish overpowers the ‘relaxing’ feeling of the spa service itself.  I find it hard to actually unplug and relax – and often find myself just running through my ‘to do’ list to figure out what I should be doing once I finish with the treatment I’m in the middle of ‘enjoying’.

to do list

I’ve actually let gift certificates pile up unused for a period of years.  Feeling guilty about not using them, I decided I would procrastinate no longer and actually set aside a day to use them.  I made the call to get an appointment, only to find out that the salon I had these gift certificates for actually closed their doors and were out of business.  Now I had the opportunity to feel guilty that we were losing the money that my husband intended me to enjoy…

massage

Time seems to get away from us… I am always busy running my own business and volunteering countless hours for our town’s Little League organization by running a concession stand and being Parents Auxiliary President.  My husband is Secretary of Little League, coaches our son’s baseball & football team’s and is President of our town’s Youth Football league.  Did I forget to mention he also works full time?  I find that our family is rarely home at the same time.

baseball coach                    football state champshot dogs

This year’s text from my husband made me stop and think about what I really want.  After just a few moments, I decided what I want for Mother’s Day.

Landscaping stones.  Yes, you read that right – what I want for Mother’s Day is landscaping stones… Well, not just landscaping stones, I want landscaping stones AND the time from my husband and son to work on our landscaping together and get this project done.  They aren’t glamorous, they aren’t luxurious, but none the less, it is what I want for Mother’s Day.  I told my husband what I want when he came home for lunch that day.  He just grinned knowing that as ridiculous as it sounds for a Mother’s Day gift, it is what will make me the most happy.

A girl wants what a girl wants…

red landscape stones                    oh well shrug                    Kevin mowing lawn

What are YOU hoping for on Mother’s Day?  Share your thoughts with us by commenting on this post.

Anne-Marie Dunn is the owner of www.BaptismalGownsPlus.com

Please feel free to visit our website or send us an e-mail at Support@BaptismalGownsPlus.com to let us know what you think.

8 Responses to “What I Want for Mother’s Day…”

  1. adventures May 9, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    I made a list of what I wanted and posted it just this morning 🙂 If I had found your site earlier, I would have included a link from my post to yours 🙂

  2. BaptismalGownsPlus May 9, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

    From our Facebook page – Barbara writes: I want my car cleaned…I have countless goldfish buried in the back seat and my black interior is speckled with milk drops from a sippy cup.

    • BaptismalGownsPlus May 9, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      I see that Barbara’s husband offered to return her Mother’s Day gift and get he car cleaned instead…. I suggest he give her both!!!

  3. BaptismalGownsPlus May 9, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    From our Facebook page – Margo writes: I need a new vacuum and wanted to put any Mothers Day Gift presents towards that!

  4. BaptismalGownsPlus May 9, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    From our Facebook page – Marianne writes: Landscaping stones – exactly what I’ve wanted for 45 years!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Got What I Wanted – Did You? | BaptismalGownsPlus - May 16, 2013

    […] As is every dream of every mother on Mother’s Day, my husband said “Let’s go to the stone yard and pick out the rocks you want.”  If you think is just plain mean for a husband to do to his wife on Mother’s Day, maybe it’s because you missed last weeks post – check it out here. […]

Leave a Reply

